Dancing in a Parade Pt 2: The Audience

21Jun10

The theme park I work for sells alcohol.

Normally, I wouldn’t find this an issue until the end of the night. Our parade is at the end of the day. It’s meant to be the exclamation point of the already awesome day you and your family had at our theme park.

Now, I definitely want people to have fun when they watch our parade. I want them to delight in the costumes, lights, and dancing. However, most of these people have no idea how to act in public, let alone while watching a performance. Then add in alcohol and it’s even more awesome. Right?

Really, I should be able to deal with the drunk men screaming, “I WOULD SO DO THAT GIRL IN THE PINK!” (yes, he actually said that) or all the random heckling. And I do. That’s fine.

However, the children grabbing costumes, or dashing out onto the route, tripping you or the people shoving cameras in your face and taking pictures with the flash on are things I cannot handle.

At the end of the day, though, when I hear kids talking about the parade while walking home through the park, I get over it. I remember being that young (and somewhat more well behaved) and wanting to be just like the pretty girls in whatever show I was watching. I understand that and therefore, I get over the asshole who tried to hit on me or the kid who nearly took me down by pulling on my costume.  At the end of the night the families enjoyed themselves and I was there to help make that happen.

I’m okay with that.

No Responses Yet to “Dancing in a Parade Pt 2: The Audience”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

