Gettin’ Thin

07Jul10

As a dancer, I realize there are standards that one, as a performer, must attain. Never mind the fact that dancers train for YEARS to attain technique, musicality, freedom of movement, etc. They also need to look good while doing it.

Yes, Friends, I’m talking about the wonderful world of dancer body image.

The times have changed and girls don’t have to be stick-thin to be in a concert dance company, nor do they have to be stick thin to dance in the parade I’m in (in fact, we have quite a few ‘curvy’ girls). However, other places such as top ballet companies and professional cheer/dance teams require a lean look. Unfortunately, that does not come easily to me.

Since my total rejection from my last audition, I’ve been kicking it into gear and working out. I hate working out. Mindless repetitions do not suit me. But, ya gotta do what ya gotta do. In the last 5 days, I have lost 3 lbs! I know have 7 more lbs to go until my goal weight. Accomplishing something feels so good in light of my latest letdown. Let’s hope my hard work pays off.

Do no fret, Friends! I am definitely being safe with my working out. Funny what happens when you give up fried foods.

T-minus 24 Days until my next audition!

One Response to “Gettin’ Thin”

  1. I just stumbled upon this post and i’d like to say good luck for both losing whatever weight you want to lose and for your next audition. I am not a dancer (not even close) so I can only imagine how nerve racking an audition like that must be like, but as for the weight loss I am constantly trying so I know how tough that can be and I too hate that kind of exercise!


Leave a Reply

